Return to APM Ultra-Flat Field 24mm 8-element 65° eyepiece--1.25"
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Really impressed! May 14, 2022
Reviewer: Matt from Johnson City, TN United States  
This is a great eyepiece! Its of the few eyeglasses-friendly 24mm on the market, and IMO the best. The 24mm Pan is my standard for comparison, and I feel that this eyepiece is almost as good. I have tested this in my TSA-120 and in my 16in f/4.5 (w Paracorr). Stars are sharp to the edge in both scopes. Contrast on the moon is stunning. I dont observe any ghosting or internal reflections, and the eyepiece feels high-quality and is comfortable to use.

My only critique is that the cap only fits with the eyecup rolled up. I wish it came with a second cap that would fit with the cup rolled down. And of course I wish the field was a bit wider — my Morpheus eps have spoiled me. The 65 degrees feels noticeably tighter than a 68 degree panoptic.

I think this eyepiece is fantastic and especially good when considering its price to performance ratio.

Overall I am extremely satisfied with this eyepiece and will plan to keep it for many years.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 April 11, 2022
Reviewer: Gary Schnettler from Cincinnati, OH United States  


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Helpful Advice, Fast Shipping September 6, 2021
Reviewer: James Adams from Orlando, FL United States  
I was looking for a low power eyepiece for an F/4 reflector used visually (and for Electronically Assisted Astronomy).  Don pointed out the APM 24 mm eyepiece has a flat field and that with this telescope yields a 6 mm exit pupil and a 2 degree true field of view.  Shipping was fast and the eyepiece was well packed.  Outstanding sales and service, thanks very much.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Great eyepiece, especially for binoviewers July 8, 2021
Reviewer: Rob Calfee from Flat Rock, NC  
These are great eyepieces, flat to the edge. I have 2 for use with my Siebert retrofitted William Optics binoviewers. As always, Don makes the purchasing process easy. Fast shipping.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Just what I was looking for. July 6, 2021
Reviewer: Vincent C Cornejo from Porterville, CA United States  
Bought this eyepiece for max field of view in a 1.25" barrel and it's perfect for the job.  Sharp from edge to edge (even at f/4.4) and excellent contrast.  Eye relief is nice and glasses friendly for me.  Great eyepiece!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Perfect for APM binoscopes October 23, 2020
Reviewer: tyson from AB Canada  
With a newer APM 100mm ED 90 deg APO binocular these eyepieces are my low power sweepers.  Unreal views.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Saved the hobby for me! September 9, 2020
Reviewer: Jack Allen from Broomfield, CO United States  
Due to Covid related furlough had to sell my TV refractor and Baader Morpheus eyepieces - and down grade (I thought) to a small SCT with a 1.25" visual back and these APM eyepieces - But I tell you it was no down grade on the eyepiece side of the equation - bright sharp image edge to edge - a nice FOV - with the F10 SCT it is marginal if a finder scope is even necessary.  The eye relief and exit pupil make this a comfortable eye piece to use.  Very enjoyable experience.  I can not imagine a finer eyepiece for the price point.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Upgrade from Orion Sirus Plossl July 13, 2020
Reviewer: Jeff from Louisville, KY United States  
This was a great upgrade from the Plossl that came with my telescope.  Super fast shipping and great packaging.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 A different approach April 29, 2020
Reviewer: Rodney Post from Concord, CA United States  
This is a interesting eyepiece. I bought it with the idea that it might be a replacement for my Pan 24. APM seems to have a different optical design philosophy from TeleVue (and others) by minimizing the geometric distortions RD and AMD while allowing a bit of astigmatism and field curvature. They do that really well as the 24 UFF is still quite sharp off axis. Testing in my TEC 140 (F7) I found it to have the exact actual field of view while having a smaller apparent field compared to the Pan 24 (65vs68), a result of being more orthoscopic than the Pan. It did suffer from a rather vague field stop however. I think it would really be a great “daytime” eyepiece. Overall I prefer the Pan as it’s more comfortable, smaller and the geometric distortions aren’t that bothersome (unless you’re looking at the moon near the edge of field). I applaud AMP for going down the different path and producing the UFF’s, I also have the 18 and 30...their keepers.

Was this review helpful to you?